Yummy Tex-Mex Chicken

Standard
Tex-mex chicken

Tex-mex chicken

I try to find creative ways to make food, especially since we eat many of the same basic shelf foods every day. The other week, in a quest to make better chicken I decided to just raid the spice cupboard to see what I could come up with.

There I found, stuffed behind the big bag of garlic powder, a shaker full of texmex seasoning. And I knew I found the answer for supper that night.

What you need:

9×13 inch baking dish

About a Kg of chicken pieces (I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts, but you can use whatever you like)

Texmex seasoning, about 3 TBSP

Small jar of salsa (we use mild or medium here)

Grated cheddar cheese, about 1 cup

I first took the chicken and placed it in the ungreased baking dish. Then I generously sprinkled the texmex seasoning all over the top of the chicken pieces. After that, I poured the salsa on top, spread out the grated cheese and popped it in the oven for about 35 minutes at 375 degrees F. The cook time may vary, depending on what size the pieces you are using are and whether it is boneless or not.

I’ll usually serve with rice or roasted potato fries.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

