My home made garlic spread

Standard
making garlic spread

making garlic spread

I like to make my own garlic spread for garlic toast or garlic cheese bread. It’s a simple recipe and I usually use margarine instead of butter because it’s less expensive, and always something I am sure to have on hand.

1 square of hard margarine, softened to room temperature (or about 1/2 cup of the spreadable stuff) OR use  butter, (omit the salt if you use the salted kind)

2-3 cloves of garlic, crushed

1 tsp garlic powder (feel free to use more if you have no fresh garlic on hand, or to taste)

pinch of salt

1 tsp parsley (I don’t always add this because the kids are picky about the “green stuff”)

Mix thoroughly in a small glass bowl.  Use right away, or save for a later time. I have kept this for up to 2 weeks in the fridge in a reusable container  after making it. The taste seems to get stronger after it sits.garlic bread slice

Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

